0

Jeny‘s stretchy cast on

or “Jeny’s Stretchy Slipknot Cast-On” is a very elastic method to cast on stitches for knitting projects, developed by Jeny Staiman. This method is the counterpart to “Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind-Off” – a very elastic method to bind off stitches.

I use both of these methods in nearly all my knitting projects, because they are wonderfully elastic and once you get the hang of it, they are easy to implement. Of course do not use this method – for example – for projects where you want to keep a wide neckline stable. 😉

But while “Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind-Off” is quite well known by now, the cast on method “Jeny’s Stretchy Slipknot Cast-On” is still relatively little represented on the internet.

How do I elastically cast on stitches for knitting?

Answer: Jeny‘s stretchy cast on

My instructions:
photos 1 – 4:
(1-3) Make a slipknot and (4) place it on the needle.

photos 5 – 8:
(5) Hold needle in right hand, lift working yarn with left thumb (from back to front & hold the yarn with the last three fingers of your left hand tight), (6) take the index finger, guide it over the working yarn and from below through the wraped yarn on your thumb and (7) let the newly created loop slide onto the index finger
– (8) you now have a new loop.

photos 9 – 12:
(9) Insert this loop with the needle from right to left and (10) place it very close to the first slipknot on the needle (do not tighten yet & keep the yarn taut with your thumb). (11) Guide the yarn from front to back over the needle and (12) pull the working yarn throught the loop.

photos 13 – 14:
(13) While tightening the loop place your index finger or thumb onto the loop (stitch/slipknot), so that it will not get twisted when tightening. Repeat steps 5 – 13 to cast on the required number of stitches. (14) Make sure that the slipknots are all directly next to each other, because with this cast on method you cannot correct the distances between the stitches later on and therefore – if not taking care of – you will get very very large gaps between your stitches.

0

Jeny‘s stretchy cast on

oder auch “Jeny’s Stretchy Slipknot Cast-On” ist eine sehr elastische Methode Maschen für Strickprojekte anzuschlagen, die von Jeny Staiman entwickelt wurde. Dieser Maschenanschlag ist das Gegenstück zu “Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind-Off” – einer sehr elastischen Methode Maschen abzuketten.

Ich nutze diese beiden Methoden mittlerweile eigentlich bei jedem meiner Strickprojekte, denn sie sind wirklich wunderbar elastisch und wenn man den Dreh erst einmal raus hat, auch leicht umzusetzen. Natürlich nicht bei Projekten wo man z.B. einen weiten Ausschnitt stabil halten möchte. 😉

Doch während “Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind-Off” zum elastischen Abketten mittlerweile recht bekannt ist, ist die Methode zum elastischen Anschlagen von Maschen noch relativ wenig im Netz vertreten.

Wie schlage ich Maschen beim Stricken elastisch an?

Antwort: Jeny‘s stretchy cast on

Meine Anleitung:
Bilder 1 – 4:
(1-3) Mache einen Laufknoten und (4) lege ihn auf die Nadel.

Bilder 5 – 8:
(5) Nadel rechte Hand, Lauffaden um den linken Daumen (von hinten nach vorne, halte den Faden mit den letzten 3 Fingern der linken Hand fest, (6) nehme den Zeigefinger und führe diesen über den Lauffaden und von unten durch die Schlinge auf dem Daumen und (7) lasse die so entstandenen Schlinge auf den Zeigefinger übergleiten – (8) du hast hier nun eine neue Schlinge.

Bilder 9 – 12:
(9) Steche in diese von der Nadelseite aus (Richtung: von rechts nach links) mit der Nadel hinein und (10) schiebe die Schlinge ganz dicht neben den ersten Laufknoten auf der Nadel (noch nicht festziehen & mit dem Daumen den Faden straff halten). (11) Führe den Faden von vorne nach hinten über die Nadel und (12) ziehe den Lauffaden so durch die Schlinge.

Bild 13 – 14:
(13) Beim Festziehen den Zeigefinger oder den Daumen der rechten Hand von oben auf die „Schlinge“ (Masche) legen, damit sich beim Festziehen nichts verdreht. Auf diese Art schlägst du nun die benötigte Maschenzahl an. (14) Achte unbedingt darauf, dass sich die Laufknoten alle direkt nebeneinander befinden, denn bei dieser Maschenanschlagmethode kannst du später den Abstand nicht mehr korrigieren und bekommst sonst sehr sehr große Abstände zwischen deinen Maschen.